Janus

the morning brought sheets of grazing snows
fighting for feet amidst memory of spring
at times like these the promise of hope is a
seasonal shift, an answering mind
brought on winds which whip themselves east and
cough over tracks. I see bones under skin and

remember that I am a long way from there
where I learnt to breathe bottles and teachers
would leer through jars holding artifice made
to mimic the plants that push through the paving
and remind us why – so hard to leave
but the hard ground will split in the summer

About Benjamin Norris

Published writer of short stories, long stories, poems. Well received art critic and cultural commentator for Berlin magazines. Collaborator with operatic societies. Co-writer of fictional historic psycholinguistic journals. Lecturer of architecture and art history at a Budapest University. View all posts by Benjamin Norris

9 responses to “Janus

  • danroberson

    Seasonal and psychological movements are preparing for spring, pushing forward and leaving the past behind. There are many lively metaphors that created action and flow throughout the poem. It’s a delight to read.

  • quillfyre

    I very much enjoyed this poem, especially these lines:

    “brought on winds which whip themselves east and
    cough over tracks. I see bones under skin”

    Thank you so much for sharing it!

  • Alle C. Hall

    HI, Benjamin. Thanks for ‘liking’ my post about my upcoming review of “Blueprints of the Afterlife.” (Got bumped to monday, BTY.)

    i am hoping you liked the humor of my struggle with reading poetry. In that light, I really tried not to skip to the bottom of your poem. The first time through, I spaced out around ” .. fighting for feet amidst memory of spring at times like these … ”

    Take two, from the top! It started to click with me at “hope is a seasonal shift, an answering mind… ” It was the comma that did it. I stopped worrying about “getting” it and let it wash over me.

    the third time through, ” … through jars holding artifice made
    to mimic the plants that push through the paving … ” linked me up to the opening. So I think I got it. As if that were the point.

    Thanks for the poem. I’m glad I checked into your page. have a good Sunday.

    Alle

  • SteffyStars

    You write beautiful poetry. I especially love ‘newday.’
    Thank you for stopping by my blog Haiku Nights!

  • adeeyoyo

    Wonderful descriptions in this poem, looking forward to the change of season and how the mind takes on the characteristics of the seasons, ie the skeletal death of winter. I love the contrast between the first and second stanzas as well. The second bring us back down to earth and reality and reminds us of the miracle of spring. Really a beautiful poem, Benjamin!

  • 14ideasforaname

    ‘sheets of grazing snow’, ‘the hard ground will split in the summer’ – thank you for this . . I think I needed to read this today (wink). And thanks for dropping by and ‘liking’!

  • Mikael

    ❤ the enjambment in this… really made me stop and think.

Leave a Reply

