V

The snow of nights now put away behind yet they

fight amongst feet like petty memories – a game, a promise

of hope amidst the mid-deepwinter, a shifting, a loss,

a season. Papers start blowing and lap at my heels

 

a box tied with lockings, reveals its quarters –

 

here, your face catches something of the light

I’d almost forgotten, almost misplaced how bones

do those things. Remember now, whether upstairs or Munich or

I don’t know where; thoughts arise unbidden, again

About Benjamin Norris

Published writer of short stories, long stories, poems. Well received art critic and cultural commentator for Berlin magazines. Collaborator with operatic societies. Co-writer of fictional historic psycholinguistic journals. Lecturer of architecture and art history at a Budapest University. View all posts by Benjamin Norris

13 responses to “V

  • Phil Canon

    I like this Benjamin. Nicely anchored in place, tangible. Love the last couple of lines.

  • adeeyoyo

    I love this, Benjamin. Memories are so elusive and out of our control sometimes… You have a wonderful way of saying things in shadows… or echoes… that’s the only way I can put it.

  • nigelld

    Hi Benjamin Excuse my ignorance on poetry but what is this style of poetry called? I only seem to be able to write poems that rhyme. It’s very deep.
    Nigel

    • Benjamin Norris

      Thanks for reading. I’m not sure I can answer your question, to be honest. I’m not massively familiar with ‘types’ of poetry – but a lot of people call it ‘free verse’, although I’m not particularly comfortable with that label because I do try to structure my poems quite carefully, and slip in half-rhymes and natural pauses when it feels right to… I do try to have some sort of rhythm, even if it is hidden a little bit. I was massively influenced as a younger man by Paul Verlaine, who was doing similar things in 19th century France. I wish I could rhyme more, but it doesn’t come so naturally to me. Sorry for such a unsatisfactory reply!

      • nigelld

        Hey Benjamin An honest reply is far better than a BS reply 😉
        If I had been asked the same question I would have replied similarly.
        Nigel

  • Benjamin Norris

    Thankyou everyone. I just sort of tossed this one off this morning after waking up and remembering it is Valentine’s day. Love poetry used to come much differently to me… 🙂

  • michaelprior90

    Stunning.

  • Yousei Hime

    Something else you’ve done here, which I really enjoy, is to create unexpected word groups, creating unique image possibilities–“a box tied with lockings” and “snow of nights” for example. Beautifully and thoughtfully constructed, very dreamlike. Thank you for your recent visit and “like.”

  • dmarshall58

    I feel the deep associations of a dream in this poem. It earns its last lines beautifully. Wonderful work.

  • Debbie

    You have a wonderful gift, Benjamin. I’ve not read anything quite like your work. Thank you for the blessing of it!

  • nazia

    Reading this made me feel good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

